• MANGA DISCUSSIONS:



    OTHER STUFF:



  • Categories

  • Recent Comments

    Pine Siskin on Bleach Chapter 686: Death…
    ripcord on Bleach Chapter 686: Death…
    sanchi on Bleach Chapter 686: Death…
    sanchi on Bleach Chapter 686: Death…
    Immortal on Bleach Chapter 686: Death…
  • RSS Unknown Feed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • Meta

  • March 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives

  • Pages

  • Shannaro!!! Stats

    • 3,879,104 narutard visits

[ALARMING NEWS] JAPAN HIT WITH AN 8.9 EARTHQUAKE.

I just found a need to report this, just in case no one is watching the news. And I don’t want people to comment in the manga post, I’ll leave that for manga discussion. If you have anything to say about the quake post them here.

As of right now, what I have gathered is that the quake hit at 1.54pm about 169 kilometres off the city of Sendai in northern Japan at a depth of 14 kilometres, close to the main island of Honshu.

Places that should be concerned: Australia, New Zealand, Hawaii, Guam, and possibly Mexico and the Western US. If you live in any of those areas; be careful. If you have family in any of those areas; warn them.

I’m not a religious guy, so I’ll be a hypocrite to say something like “My prayers goes with them.” or something like that. That being said, I do feel for them, and I DO really wish that as many people that can save themselves, do so. I might not be Japanese, but for some reason or another I am really concern about what happens to Japan. I know that me being a Geek, and most of my geek stuff coming from and/or made in Japan (Manga, Anime, Square-Enix, etc.) has something to do with it, but not just cause of that. I truly feel bad about what’s happening. Which is rare for me.

Again, hopefully Japan can persevere after this. I really want the best for them. I’m sad for those who have lost, and will lose, someone while this happens.

[UPDATE]

Key details:

  • Police say 200 to 300 bodies found in northeastern coastal area
  • Coast guard searching for ship carrying 80 workers
  • Fires triggered by the quake burn up and down the coast
  • ‘Nuclear emergency’ declared after problems at Japanese plant
  • Evacuation order issued to thousands neardifferent nuclear plant
  • Japanese PM cites ‘major damage’; calls for ‘spirit of fraternity’
  • First tsunami waves hit Hawaii, sweep though islands
  • California emergency agency spokesman says evacuations ‘very possible’

[UPDATE]

  • DEATH TOLL “ABOVE 10,000”
  • Almost 2 million households were without power in the freezing north, the government said. There were about 1.4 million without running water.
  • NUCLEAR CRISIS
  • A Japanese official said 22 people have been confirmed to have suffered radiation contamination and up to 190 may have been exposed. Workers in protective clothing used handheld scanners to check people arriving at evacuation centers.
  • Possible Volcano eruption.
35 Responses

  1. Woooah, Woooah, Wooooah, Hold up, Time out! Not to be funny, but LAST year I didnt see not one damn post or a single sentence when HAITI was strucked by a earthquake. Nobody mentioned it, gave prayers, sent thoughts, or even acknowledge it. Hell even BoB didn’t say a word. It’s just a normal as day at the park when people who have less fortune then Japan

  2. You can see stuff on it here.

    http://www.youtube.com/aljazeeraenglish?feature=ticker

    @Fleece, Zep wasn’t active on Shannaro a year ago bro. And is this really the time to be talking about stuff like that?

  3. it is a sad day

  4. Best wishes to Japan

  5. @Fleece: Look. I don’t know you, so I’m not going to say anything, except for this: I agree w/ Kisu. I wasn’t active in a while, and unless you know me, please keep your mouth shut! Like Kisu stated, this is not the time. Further more: If what Haiti really bothered you; why didn’t YOU write anything about it.

    @Kisu: thanks for the link. I was going to place a video, but I decided that posting it was more important, and didn’t go look for one.

  6. just posted the video Kisu linked to. Thanks again Kisu.

  7. 😦 Sorry for overreacting. I wish I can delete my comment but I can’t. My prayers go out to them.

  8. http://japan.person-finder.appspot.com/?lang=en

    People finder for Japan Crisis

    Apparently someone has reported KIshi Missing

    Fleece shut up please

  9. Fleece, I edited your comment. Now seriously, there’s no need for this. You said “Know you’re damn role”, so I assume you’re a fan of professional wrestling, if that’s the case stop being a Michael Cole. If you’re only a fan of The Rock, then I say stop being a jabroni. People are injured and people are dying. Think about them instead of how to insult Zep. Besides, he’s one of the original guys that founded this site years ago. Just chill dude. 😦

    @DevilsRage, lets hope Kishi is okay.

  10. i dont want kishi to die. he is like a rolemodel to me. and i dont want naruto to end!! i hope everyone in japan is alright and that things get better

  11. i hope japan is safe, here in cali theres tsunami warnings, even though it sucks there will be no anime or manga for a while, i hope they take their time to recover

  12. I smell what cooking Kisu, but never and I mean NEVER call the great one a jabroni, I get more pie then all of you in ya life time!!! 😉 . I really hope Kishi’s okay, I mean I just know he’s okay, no doubt about it, and we will be seeing a new chapter next week or so

  13. Hey thankz zep for the post, i was so busy that I didnt see this on the news or anything but I called my family in japan and thanks goddness they r all fine. Oh btw I also live in australia so I hope everything goes well here

  14. @Kisu: Thanks for having my back, man. And your right, this is not the time and place for arguing. This post is made to inform people, and for people to express their thoughts on the catastrophe, NOT what they think of people.

    I too wish that, not just Kishi, but as many people that can save themselves do so.

    @xTailed: You’re welcome. Glad I can help. Hope your family, and yourself, survive this ordeal.

  15. Best wishes to Japan
    Hope as many people as posible survive
    If Kishi’s missing let’s hope he’s alright
    I didn’t see the news yesterday because I was at my work, but seeing the video it looks bad

  16. My deep condolences to people of japan

  17. My deep sorry to people of japan

  18. @ fleece, dude u don’t have to apologize for feeling the way u felt, and u shouldn’t be forced to apologize if u don’t feel like it. true, its sad what happened in japan, i to have the majority of my entertainment from the country, but if u feel that way about haiti so be it, but this is a naruto blog dude, so chances are even if whomever was on this blog a year ago, chances are they still wouldn’t have posted it, because haiti contributes nothing concerning naruto nor bleach, nor one piece, not picking on anyone, cause like u guys, i do feel this is extremely sad, but lets be real, its sad cause that is the country that most if not all manga comes from, we don’t pay for it here. so if the country isn’t asian then it isn’t news on this site, and sometimes the “guys” that have admin rights do act like bullies, and can say what they want, but if we the “visitors” say something they don’t like, we are ridiculed, and our post will be seriously edited or removed, so fleece go with the flow of these guys, it doesn’t matter….if u speak out of line u will be bashed by these guys…again its sad about japan, but hope it doesn’t stop manga flow.

  19. What? *facepalm*. If I wasnt on Shannaro for 2 years now and knew that there are some genuinely good people here, the comment above me would’ve made me leave this community permanently. People find the most inane things to fight about. I guess none of you take Naruto’s lesson to heart.

    @Zep, don’t be offended. Just ignore.

  20. @kisu
    ohhhhhhhhhhhh, i get so u a ‘editor’ can also be a hypocrite,,that makes sense, as u would put it, heres the proof kisuzachi, on March 11, 2011 at 12:59 am said:

    Please Kabuto, don’t summon any more “legendary” shinobi. I pray he doesn’t summon Yahiko. I prefer to think Yahiko was uber powerful.

    @Zep, I hope our Mangakas don’t get hurt. This’ll probably delay next week’s chapter (I know I sound heartless right now 😦 )
    i said the exact same thing ,and what? facepalm?
    i will continue to come to the site like always, and watch u do like i mentioned above, u guys were jumping on fleece because of his opinions, ok, pls do ignore me “all knowing kisu” but im glad ur family is safe, and i will keep the japanese ppl in my thoughts, nothing more and nothing less, i just hope the mangas will come out on time. and to bob, sorry dude i know u are cool and i know some of these guys can be obnoxious, but i love ur site, but i call it like i see it man. and by me speaking my mind on a FREE internet site makes me bad person then fine, i will take that. i dont mind, but some of ur editors, if u havent notice are as i mention in my above comment, and fyi kisu, i don’t even read ur post on any on the reviews, but i came back cause i bet a friend that if anyone didn’t respond to my comment, the ” boss kisu” would…lol thanks man u won me money that i am going to send for the relief for japan, even though we didn’t receive any help from anyone during katrina. but it goes like i also said, its breaking news here because that quake and flood will have effects on out manga and anime….im not a bad guy dude, u don;’t even know me. but ppl don’t like to here about themselves, cause i didn’t single any “editor” out, but cause i know u couldn’t resist, i came back to see, and u did what i thought u would, so yeah im calling u out. i respect ever other editor and bob the owner, cause they are compassionate about this, for some reason u have to be right..fuck it, im done talking to u, u arent’ worth the effort, last time, thats was a sad day in the anime industry, and thanks to kisu i will be sending money to help out so that they can get back on track. THANKS KISU=p

  21. oh, and if u leave permanently, u will be missed for at least i chapter or two, jdogg is doing his thang with one piece, and bob has naruto locked down. don’t care for the bleach, cause its boring now. but u, U , u only bring out the ‘IN THE DATABOOK’ and the ” u are wrong’
    sorry for bashing u dude, but u know u deserve it. all the other editors pls don’t take offense to this in any way i have no problem with u guys, i love hurricane…been coming here for yrs, and i would have probably been on staff here, but i really just like to read the reviews. cause bob might think of something that i didn’t.and i can compare notes. but if any of u guys have family over in japan, pls make sure that they are ok, im hoping for the best, i know how u are feeling because my wife is in tokyo now. and i am worried sick, but i will be helping as much as i can. thanks to the 90 bucks i just won…
    sn:im a great guy!!!*smiley face*
    *face palm* kisu if u leave, u might be missed, might…
    i might make another beat double or nothing… but u guys can delete this cause i made my point so no matter what. i win. just hope the damage to that country isn’t fixable.

  22. sorry, hope the damage to that country doesn’t make it unfixable….my mistake.

  23. @Just passing, my God you’re enamored with me! I already told you dude, I dont swing that way. I told Zep to ignore you so an argument doesnt take over this post. As an author I refuse to get into a flame war with you.

  24. wow did i miss something? 0_o
    so many long paragraghs
    ……my head hurts from all these big words lol

  25. Seriously!!!! Guys is this the time to be fighting. In case you all have forgotten thousands of people are dead, seriously injured, paralyzed or missing and thousands of people in Japan and around world don’t know if their loved ones are dead or alive.

    In addition to people losing everything they have, their jobs and homes. And they don’t know where they’ll sleep, live, work or when the next meal is or how they’ll get a change of clothes.

    Lets all grow up and act like human beings!

  26. I still don’t understand why you two are still at it?!

    This post is not about who’s right, wrong, stupid, smart, better, worse. It’s about the Japanese people and what they are going through. First they get a 9.0 earthquake, then who knows how many tsunami, NOW it’s possible that a volcano might erupt, and people are trying to best each other in a debate?!

    I really don’t care what people think of me. THIS POST IS NOT ABOUT ME!! It’s for people like xTailed, and others who don’t know what happened. It’s also for people to express their condolences for the Japanese people!

    I agree w/ Lord Hyuga. “Lets all grow up and act like human beings!”

    @ whoever: Just let it go. If it is really important to you give each other your cell #’s, emails, IMs, Twitter, Facebooks, or whatever. Like that you can go at it all you want. Hell create a post about it, if it really is THAT MUCH more important than what’s happening in Japan. Feed your Egos all you want. I just plead, don’t do it here. Thank you.

  27. you all just sound like a bunch of whiny bitches. meh

  28. @ripcord
    hahahahahahahahahahaaa so true

  29. @Profess

    That wasn’t me.

  30. Update, the mangakas are safe. Strangely, there’s no word from Kishimoto.

    http://www.animenewsnetwork.com/news/2011-03-11/anime/manga/game-industry-members-check-in-after-quake

    Also, the people of Japan have been tweeting. It truly warms the heart to see that all of life’s squabbles don’t matter once people’s lives are in danger. Here are just a few of those tweets:

    “* ディズニーランドでの出来事

    ディ ズニーランドでは、ショップのお菓子なども配給された。ちょっと派手目な女子高生たちが必要以上にたくさん もらってて「何だ?」って一瞬思ったけど、その 後その子たちが、避難所の子供たちにお菓子を配っていたところ見て感動。子供連れは動けない状況だったから 、本当にありがたい心配りだった
    At Tokyo Disneyland:
    Tokyo Disneyland was handing out its shops’ food and drinks for free to the stranded people nearby. I saw a bunch of snobby looking highschool girls walking away with large portions of it and initially though “What the …” But I later I found out they were taking them to the families with little children at emergency evacuation areas. Very perceptive of them, and a very kind thing to do indeed.

    * 国連からのメッセージ

    国連からのコメント「日本は今まで世界中に援助をしてきた援助大国だ。今回は国連が全力で日本を援助する。 」 に感動した。良い事をしたら戻ってくるのです。これがいい例なのです
    Message from the UN
    Secretary General Ban Ki Moon: “Japan is one of (the UN’s) most generous and strongest benefactors, coming to the assistance of those in need the world over. In that spirit, the United Nations stands by the people of Japan and we will do anything and everything we can at this very difficult time.” I was moved at his words. What better example that good things happen to those who do good.

    * 渋滞した交差点での出来事

    一 回の青信号で1台しか前に進めないなんてザラだったけど、誰もが譲り合い穏やかに運転している姿に感動した 。複雑な交差点で交通が5分以上完全マヒする シーンもあったけど、10時間の間お礼以外のクラクションの音を耳にしなかった。恐怖と同時に心温まる時間 で、日本がますます好きになった。
    At a congested downtown intersection …
    Cars were moving at the rate of maybe one every green light, but everyone was letting each other go first with a warm look and a smile. At a complicated intersection, the traffic was at a complete standstill for 5 minutes, but I listened for 10 minutes and didn’t hear a single beep or honk except for an occasional one thanking someone for giving way. It was a terrifying day, but scenes like this warmed me and made me love my country even more.

    * 揺れている最中でも・・・

    聞いた話でびっくりしたのが、とっさに「入口の確保」と揺れてるにも関わらず、あの状況で歩いて入口を開け た人が居たのが凄いと思った。正直、シャンデリアも証明も何時落ちるか分からないのに、凄く勇敢な人が居た 事に感動した。
    During the earthquake
    We’ve all been trained to immediately open the doors and establish an escape route when there is an earthquake. In the middle of the quake while the building was shaking crazily and things falling everywhere, a man made his way to the entrance and held it open. Honestly, the chandelier could have crashed down any minute … that was a brave man!”

  31. A nuclear reactor blew up. Damn

  32. @kisu

    It wasn’t a nuclear explosion… apparently when they cool the reactor with water, it makes hydrogen gas. Too much hydrogen gas pressure leads to an explosion. I believe they didn’t want to vent the pressure too often because it would release radioactive gas.

    No meltdowns yet. They say even if it happens it won’t be as bad as Chernobyl.

    Thanks for putting up those translated tweets Kisu. It is nice to read about how the Japanese are pulling together.

  33. is kishi still missing

  34. @Profess, yeah he sadly is

    @ripcord, well that’s fairly better news 🙂

    The creator of One Piece is doing his part too.

    http://twitter.com/WEIGY/statuses/47266776257540096#

Comments are closed.

